sheet metal
shopRPmachine.com
Home | Library | Buyers' Guide | Sheet Metal Industry Ads | Support | Forum Home Page

Go Back   The Sheet Metal Shop > Sheet Metal Forums > Sheet Metal Basics

Sheet Metal Basics Forum for those beginning sheet metal layout and other related fields. Let the industry help answer your questions. There's plenty of experienced help in our shop wanting to help you.

Share This Forum!  

Old 02-05-2007, 08:11 PM

Default blueprint reading

Howdy All

I am new to the trade (about a 14 mo.) and a few weeks ago I started taking plans and specs home to study. I found a situation were the engineer did not size the duct work but provided a note to size duct to 11.5 S.F. coordinate with ceiling height. I asked my foreman what this was and oddly he did not know. He said the shop people would figure this out and not worry about it. He is a bit of a hillbilly (don’t get me wrong he is very good at installing duct however; I just have this need to know how things work).

BTW this is a R/A transfer. Can someone here please, school me as to what he is looking for? I get the coordination part; we have 16’’ from structure to ceiling.

Kind Regards,

Bill
Old 02-06-2007, 05:59 AM
ME

I'm thinking he wasn't sure on the area above the ceiling and therefor letting you make the decision on the l x W of the duct to accomadate the plenum area above the ceiling.

Just my thought?

www.shopRPMachine.com

Old 02-06-2007, 06:00 AM
ME

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud
I'm thinking he wasn't sure on the area above the ceiling and therefor letting you make the decision on the l x W = 11.5 SF of the duct to accomadate the plenum area above the ceiling.

Just my thought?

www.shopRPMachine.com

Old 02-06-2007, 06:32 AM
Professional Member

big_willie: